I used to love frozen chicken pot pies.  The little ones in the tin cups that you cook in the oven for 45 minutes.  They are no good for you and full of calories, which I did not realize when I was eating them because I did not care about calories.  I ate them a lot as a child and during my college years, but really have not had chicken pot pie in years.

 

Recently I came upon a recipe for a “lighter” chicken pot pie.  The recipe looked so easy I figured I would give it a try and see what happened.  I have been having a lot of success lately with new recipes and really felt like I was on a roll.

 

From start to finish I can have delicious chicken pot pie in about an hour and with the use of my food processor the prep work for the recipe is super easy.  I’m going to post recipe below, but I changed a few things to fit what my husband and I like.

I decided against the phyllo dough and used a sheet of puff pastry.

 

I used 2 tablespoons of butter instead of 1 in the filling.

 

I used boneless, skinless thighs instead of chicken breasts because my husband prefers dark meat, and I baked it in the oven until it was cooked through.

 

I used low sodium chicken stock that I bought.

 

I did not use tarragon because I did not have any and I’m a firm believer in using what you’ve got.  I substituted rosemary because it is a great seasoning with chicken.

 

Also, I used yellow onions instead of shallots, again because this is what I had.

 

Because I kept this recipe simple and modified it to work in my kitchen with what I had and what I’m comfortable with the end result was fantastic.  We liked it so much I made it twice in less than 2 weeks.  Chicken pot pie is now officially in my dinner rotation and I couldn’t be happier about it.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, plus 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 2 medium shallots, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups reserved stock from Poached Chicken
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 4 medium carrots, cut on the diagonal into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 3 medium celery stalks, cut on the diagonal into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • Poached Chicken
  • 3 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, plus about 1/2 cup leaves for crust and sprigs for garnish
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely chopped fresh tarragon
  • 1/2 cup slightly thawed frozen peas
  • 6 sheets phyllo dough, thawed if frozen
  • Flaked sea salt, for sprinkling (optional)

DIRECTIONS

  1. STEP 1

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add shallots, garlic, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until shallots are translucent, about 3 minutes. Stir in 1 cup stock. Whisk remaining 1/2 cup stock into the flour in a small bowl. Whisk into shallot mixture. Bring to a boil, whisking constantly. Reduce to a simmer. Cook 5 minutes, whisking occasionally.

  1. STEP 2

Add carrots and celery. Bring to a boil. Stir in chicken. Return to a boil. Remove from heat. Stir in chopped parsley and tarragon. Let cool. Stir in peas. Transfer to a 2-quart (8 1/2-by-12-inch) baking dish.

  1. STEP 3

Brush 1 sheet of phyllo with melted butter. Sprinkle with parsley leaves. Repeat with remaining phyllo, parsley, and butter; do not sprinkle parsley on final layer. (Keep unbuttered phyllo covered with plastic wrap and a damp kitchen towel.) Drape crust over cooled filling; tuck in edges. Cut four 4-inch slits in crust for vents. Sprinkle with sea salt, if desired.

  1. STEP 4

Bake until crust is golden brown and juices are bubbling, about 30 minutes. Remove from oven, and recut vents. Serve immediately in shallow bowls.

 

