I’m always trying to improve my diet and eating habits in an effort to get to a healthy weight and maintain it. I have had my ups and downs and I’ll try most things. While I enjoy eating a raw diet it does not necessarily work for my husband fulltime and I found that I liked cooked foods too much to give them up completely forever. So, I’ve switched to high raw and now a focus on “clean eating.”

I’ve been checking out some youtube channels focused on clean eating and found some great recipes. I tried a healthy version of taco salad last week and it was a big hit with my husband. I never would have thought on my own to add black olives to my taco salad, but after trying it I don’t think I’ll do without it. It gives such a nice unexpected flavor.

My latest “clean eating” adventure was a gluten-free brownie recipe. I was completely surprised not only what these brownies are made of, but how good they are. I’m going to link the video below so you can check it out. Trust me, as someone who bakes and who loves the art of baking these brownies are a winner. The main ingredient is Almond Butter and they give the brownies a nutty flavor. Almond butter is also a good source of protein, so these brownies have way more nutritional value than a flour-based brownie. Drop me a comment if you give them a try. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

A word of caution, you have to let the brownies cool completely. I would suggest making them a day ahead before you actually want to cut them. They cut better and it gives them time to set.

Chocolate chunk brownies

Chocolate Chunk Brownie