My something new

My something new

My husband and I did some grocery shopping yesterday and walked through the natural/organic section of the grocery store and I stopped in front of the peanut butter and jelly/preserve section. I had originally intended to get some organic, natural, and probably salt-free peanut butter. I had a taste for peanut butter but did not want to have all the salt and sugar you find in the national brands. While standing in front of the natural/organic peanut butter my eyes looked over and noticed the almond butter. I’ve seen almond butter everytime I shop for peanut butter and just never really stopped to pay much attention.

After looking over a few brands and getting over the difference in price from peanut butter (almond butter is twice the price),we decided to get a jar of smooth almond butter and some all natural raspberry preserves. After we got home we decided on having a sandwich and so I made almond butter and raspberry preserve. We were both surprised at the lightness of the almond butter and the subtle taste unlike peanut butter that sometimes can be very thick and get stuck all in your mouth. The almond butter was light, nutty, and not to sticky.

I’m pretty sure we are going to be buying almond butter instead of peanut butter from now on. It is a little pricey but we don’t eat enough of it that we would have to by on every shopping trip. I think I’ll give it a try in my next batch of cookies. I might just be converted from peanut butter altogether.

Have you tried something new lately?

Umm Ebraheem

