I get asked a lot about what recipes I’m using and what kinds of foods I’m eating.  Youtube is a great resource for raw food recipes and from there you can learn about the different kinds of raw food cook books.  What I’m finding is the simpler the better.  I don’t have a dehydrator and right now I’m not planning on getting one.  I like a few youtubers because they don’t use the dehydrator and make great recipes.  I’m still learning myself and feel I have a long way to go.  My husband and I are eating mostly salads and soups.  I have 2 soup recipes that I make on a regular basis and I just change up the vegetables that I put in my salads.  Another resource I found was my Everyday Food magazines.  In the summer and light editions there were several raw food recipes that I did not even realize were raw foods.  They are great vegetable side dishes that I turned into main courses.  Over the next couple of weeks I’ll be posting some of the recipes and sharing some of the cookbooks I’ve found helpful.

First up – Garden  Vegetable Soup

 I LOVE this soup.  It is filling and tastes great.  I’m trying to get my hands on a copy of Jennifer Cornbleet’s cookbook locally because I did not want to have to order it from Amazon and I’ve just found a copy at a local bookstore and plan to purchase ASAP.  She makes fast, easy, and tasty recipes that both my husband and I enjoy.  I don’t have a picture, but I will make the soup in a day or 2 and edit the post to add it.  Trust me, this soup is fantastic.

INGREDIENTS

1 Zucchini (large)

2 celery stalks

1 Tomato

1 Green onion

1 cup spinach

Hand full of Basil

1 cup water

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 clove garlic

Cayenne pepper

Blend these ingredients first and then add

1/2 Avocado

Salt and Pepper to taste

