Well, I can say that this entire experience has been positive.  I was able to drastically change my diet with only a few hiccups along the way and I’m glad I did not talk myself out of doing the 21-Day Cleanse.  I was not 100% raw but I would say I was about 85% to 90% raw, which was definitely new.  There was only a very small sense of being deprived of something and I found good ways to work around and substitute.  I learned some great new recipes and had some fun experimentation with food. 

I think the overall experience has put food in perspective and I like the feeling of being more in control.  I surprised that the 21 days was up on Monday and I’ve yet to fire up the coffee pot.  I LOVE COFFEE!  I figured as soon as this was over I would have to have a cup of joe, but I was cleaning the kitchen the other afternoon and realized it was Thursday and I still had not had coffee.  Maybe I’ll relegate coffee to being an occasional splurge to go along with my sweets.

WEIGHT LOSS:

I lost about 15 pounds during this process and I think I could have lost more if I had not eaten so many nuts.  I used nuts as a way to get me over the hungry feeling and for when I needed a snack and we did not have the fruit I wanted to eat in the house.  I’m learning to control the urge to reach for a can of cashews or pistachios and I think going forward I can realize an even larger weight loss.

FOOD SUBSTITUTES

I found there were many ways to work around not cooking your food to still achieve a raw or vegan version of what you used to eat.  I found so many recipes but some I did not have the proper kitchen equipment to make.  My blending is very old and I’m looking into a replacement blender with a food processor attachment.  I was considering buying a bread machine because I got rid of the one had years ago but decided to invest in a blender and food processor first.  I can actually make healthy dinners with those two appliances as opposed to just making bread and deserts.

A couple of the food replacements that I made and loved were marinara and zucchini to replace spaghetti and chocolate avocado pudding to replace regular chocolate pudding.  I also made garden vegetable and tomato soup in the blender which were completely raw and very delicious.  I don’t have pictures for that, but I will get some up. 

    

My next project is to make some almond milk because I have some oatmeal in the cabinet that I would like to make use of and I don’t want to drink cows milk. I’ll definitely record my experience with that adventure.

