On Saturday a friend and I went to the farmer’s market.  I was looking for some specific vegetables and herbs.  There was a lot to choose from, though not in variety of vegetables.  There was lots of lettuce and Swiss chard.  I was happy to see the strawberries were looking good.  NC has great strawberry farms and I like to go to the farms and pick strawberries.  I did not find a lot of what I was looking for, but that is a casualty of shopping and eating local.  You can only purchase what the farms produce!  I was under a time crunch and realized I cannot shop at the farmer’s market with a clock ticking.  I like to compare prices, walk around a little bit and then decide which stall I’m going to buy from.  I got some really nice kale, Swiss chard, bok choy, strawberries, and spinach.  I did not bring enough money with me to get the tomatoes that I wanted, but next time Insha’Allah. 

 Eat local!

Umm Ebraheem

