I had been thinking about cake and ice cream for about 2 weeks before I decided to go ahead and bake a cake. I don’t make box cakes so everything is made from scratch, including the icing. I get my yellow cake mixed and baked and I have it sitting on the table to cool. I’m still working (medical transcription), so I don’t get to the icing until later in the evening. When I go to make the chocolate icing I realize I used all the vanilla in the cake and there is none left for the icing. It is late and I’m not going to be able to go to the store.

Well, I had some orange extract from another baking project and I substituted that for the vanilla. The outcome was fantastic!!! I made an orange chocolate icing and that plus a moist yellow cake covered in Neapolitan ice cream was a desert worth talking about.

