I have been making a real effort to make better, healthier food choices.  On my last trip to the grocery store I stocked up on some yogurt for snacks instead of getting ice cream.  I had a coupon for Dannon and I had recently decided to not buy Breyers because it was full of sugar.  I don’t know why I did not check the label before buying 10 containers of Dannon  yogurt but I didn’t.   So, yesterday I’m enjoying a strawberry yogurt when I realized how much sweeter it is than my old favorite of Stony Brook Farms.  I turn the little plastic container around and what do my eyes see?   A travesty is what.

The first 5 ingredients in my supposedly healthy snack include 3 sugars, and not any good natural sugar but fructose.  The first 5 ingredients are  low fat milk, strawberries, sugar, fructose syrup, fructose, high fructose corn syrup .   I cannot tell you how upset I was.  I guess it is back to Stony Brook Farms no matter what the cost.  There is no easy or cheap way to avoid high fructose corn syrup and I’m certainly not going to eat yogurt that is full of the stuff.   Another thing is for sure, I would not give that junk to any child.   It is a wonder we have an obesity epidemic in this country when almost everything contains high fructose corn syrup in the top 5 ingredients.   Dannon has completely lost my business as has Breyer’s yogurt because it is the same thing.   If you are trying to eat healthy don’t just think because you’ve made a better choice in food group that it is necessarily better for you, always check the ingredients!

Umm Ebraaheem

