I don’t know if I am being adversely affected by all the healthcare talk I’m listening to or if my actual experiences with my healthcare providers is making me such a cynic.  What I do know is that I am one more bad feeling away from completely dumping the Duke Healthcare System and moving over to the UNC Chapel Hill system.  I’ve just dumped my primary care provider and I will be picking up a different provider at the end of the month.  I was close to dumping my gynecologist because I did not feel that her office staff was handling my appointments properly. 

Whether or not I decide to get out of the Duke system I do know that I will no longer let healthcare providers frustrate me.  I am determined I am going to get good care if I have to shop for doctors on a regular basis.  There is no excuse for the lack of care and attention that is being passed off as primary care these days.  I encourage my friends and family to really take charge of their healthcare and don’t settle for substandard care.  I’m paying a ridiculous amount of money every month for my health insurance and then I pay my co-payments.  The doctors except me to pay for services rendered and I expected to get services that were paid for.

