Adetta

Brenda

Lois

Frank

Nellie

Tonight as I sit at home with my husband and wait to hearBarack Obama’s acceptance speech for the nomination of President from Democratic Party I can’t help but think about my own family.   I am 32 years old and I only have to count back five names, just five short-lived generations to get back to my ancestor that lived in slavery.  I consider myself fortunate because I know some of my families history.  Many blacks in the United States do not have the pleasure of knowing the names of their ancestors.  I encourage everyone who reads this to have conversations with your family memebers, especially the elders and find out the names of those who came before you.  Don’t let your family’s history be forgotten.  I take pride in who I am and I am grateful to Allah for my history and for guiding me to Islam.  This is a day that will be remembered for years to come as a milestone in this country.  Black people in the United States have worked and strove hard many a year to overcome the racial problems that exist here.   Racism is not something that is unique to the United States, it happens in every other country in the world in some form or fashion, but as for my own country, I am happy to see things change in my lifetime.

