In Islam holidays are of a religious nature.  When we Muslims celebrate something it has a significant meaning in our religion.  My countrymen, however, will celebrate anything from Secretary’s day to the day they believed Isa (Jesus) was resurrected.  From the date they celebrate the birth of Isa to president’s day.  The number of holidays listed on a calendar sold in the United states runs I’m sure at least  2-3 per month.  

 Before I became a medical transcriptionist and had the good fortune to work out of my home I worked in a call center as a work force analyst.  This job required me to share an office with 5 other people.  The lady who sat at the desk next to mine was a divorced mother of 3 who was shacking up with her current boyfriend.  So, as the December holiday season rolled around my co-workers were sharing information about their plans and one day the lady next to me was telling the story how her children were learning that Santa did not exist and how she wanted to keep them believing that a man from the North Pole had a sleigh and reindeer and was going to bring them presents.  Mind you her children ranged in age from 7-13.  After she lamented about this for a while she turned to me  to ask how I would handle this situation.  I tried to explain to her that as a Muslim I would not be celebrating Christmas and even before I had accepted Islam there was no way I was going to perpetuate a silly lie like that that to my children.   It took everyone in the office by complete surprise when this woman broke out in tears and actually cried because she was so upset about the fact that my children would not know about santa clause.  It was the most bizarre experience I have ever had at work.   I actually laughed that day because I could not believe this lady could actually work up enough emotion to make tears over santa clause. 

I guess it is true when people say it takes all kinds.

