We have spent almost 4 months here in Alexandria and the realty of what we have experienced has not met with expectations. Even though I reminded myself to keep my expectations within reason, and I thought I had, the reality of the situation here just did not match up. There are many reasons for that and I believe that the political and economic situation has contributed to a great degree. We have diligently looked for an apartment for 3 months and have been unsuccessful. We had certain criteria that needed to be met in finding a longterm living situation, and because we are living off of savings and did not want to work we had to make sure we did not get ourselves into a bad situation that would lead to us loosing money.

It is important when on a budget to try to make the best decisions possible financially. We made istikkaarah and dua and really looked for a good situation. Al hamdulillah, we are not displeased with our situation. We learned a lot being here in Alexandria. It was a good experience for us to have. Not many people get to live in a different country at all, so 3 months being somewhere different and new was good. It will prepare me for the next time, inshaAllah. I will be more confident should we decide to come back to Egypt and better able to cope. I won’t have to deal with the shock of being somewhere so different from home.

So, we are preparing to return back home to the US. Not with heavy hearts but with more information and a better understanding. Whatever happens next I’m looking forward to unpacking and hanging my clothes up somewhere!

